R.I.P. IV Challenge!

25 August, 2009

RIP IV

So two challenges in a month? Well, it’s not too bad. I have six months to read the books for the Japanese Literary Challenge 3 and two months for the R.I.P. IV Challenge. And I went to the library today and brought back a bagful of mysteries and thrillers so no excuse for me! I’m really excited about this challenge because mysteries are my FAVOURITE kind of books. I’ve been following Stainless Steel Droppings‘ blog for several months now and didn’t realise until now that he was the host for the Readers Imbibing Peril (RIP) IV Challenge. I’ve read many good things about this challenge in a lot of book blogs and have seen how excited everyone is about it. And how beautiful is this banner? So I’ve put my name down for it and can’t wait to start. Oh wait, I’ve already started reading my book while I was waiting for my take-away curry (I know, it’s only Tuesday but I’m already treating myself.)

I will be participating in the Peril the Second RIP Challenge: I need to read two books in one of the RIP subgenres (mystery, suspense, thriller, dark fantasy, gothic, horror, supernatural) by 31 October 2009.

The two books I have in mind are:
The Season of the Witch by Natasha Mostert
The Chalk Circle Man by Fred Vargas

If I finish them with time to spare I might also try one of the following:
The Library of Shadows by Mikkel Birkegaard
The Vein of Deceit by Susanna Gregory
Grotesque by Natsuo Kirino

So wish me luck. I’m also three quarters of the way through Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami and it’s still keeping me guessing. Brilliant stuff.

4 Responses to “R.I.P. IV Challenge!”

  1. Carl V. Says:

    So awesome to have you aboard for the RIP Challenge this year. I read Season of the Witch a couple of years ago and ended up really being taken with it. I’ve been wanting to reread it actually. If you are interested, after you’ve read it for yourself of course, feel free to check out my review and let me know how our experiences with the book compare:

    http://www.stainlesssteeldroppings.com/?p=711

    I read Out by Kirino last year for the Japanese Lit Challenge and I think for RIP as well. Always great to combine challenge reads.

    • chasingbawa Says:

      Hi Carl, thank you for welcoming me, and I’ll be sure to check out your review when I’m done with Season of the Witch. I also read Out by Kirino several years ago and loved it.

  2. bookinglass Says:

    Hi, I am new to all this book blogging, where do you suggest I start looking for inspiration? I am also quite a slow reader, so different from you sounds like…anyway, just wanted to say I have enjoyed scanning your entries, and I want to read a few mysteries soon.

    • chasingbawa Says:

      Hello, thank you for your comment. I think you can find inspiration in the things around you. As long as you are passionate about your topic and have something to say, your reader will enjoy it too. Also, if you read other book blogs, you can get some ideas too as they have several memes and topics that seem to go around the blogosphere. I’m a novice too so I’m still learning. And it doesn’t really matter how fast or slow you read, as long as you enjoy the book. Happy reading!


Leave a comment