Paris in July

25 June, 2010

Oh, I wish I was there… Who doesn’t love Paris for the beautiful architecture, the boulevards, the tartines at breakfast, the Grand Marnier soufflés and the elegant and relaxed way of life? And especially the important part literature and art plays there.

Bookbath and Thyme for Tea are hosting Paris in July next month to celebrate this beautiful city, and I will be participating by reading a French book (in translation, may I add. My GCSE French is rather dusty and I can only understand un petit peu de Français.) I know, I know, I can hear you say I’m overdosing on challenges, but it’s one book and maybe I can squeeze in a film, right? How hard can that be? I’ve just seen the trailer for the new Sophie Marceau/Monica Belluci film, Don’t Look Back (Ne te retourne pas), which looks great but I don’t think it’s out yet.

And what will I be reading? Probably one of these:

The Fairy Gunmother by Daniel Pennac
The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbary
The Châtelet Apprentice by Jean-François Parot
The First Detective: The Life and Revolutionary Times of Vidocq, Criminal, Spy and Private Eye by James Morton
Passionate Minds: The Great Scientific Affair by David Bodanis

Exciting stuff, n’est-ce pas?

25 Responses to “Paris in July”

  1. Iris Says:

    Oh, I have read a few posts on this and it is all too tempting.


  2. Oui, tres exciting stuff! 😉

    I didn’t know about this challenge, but I love French books so I’m gonna hop over and join in.

    I can highly recommend The Elegance of the Hedgehog too (there’s a Japanese character in it too). It’s a fabulous book!

    I am going to France for a week tomorrow (the Dordogne) and I cannot wait!!!

  3. Aarti Says:

    Ooh, I like the look of The First Detective! Can’t wait to see what you think.

  4. Colleen Says:

    Dangerous Liaisons is one of the best French novels ever written in my humble but firm opinion; give it a try if the others don’t suit you!

  5. Nymeth Says:

    Ooh, this is so tempting. Must see if there’s something that qualifies on the tbr pile.

  6. Fëanor Says:

    Fairy Gunmother was great stuff, I gotta say.

  7. Tamara Says:

    Congratulations!! You have just become one of the first winners in Paris in July – just for making this post! How easy was that? We’re really looking forward to this celebration. Glad you could join in. Just email me soon with your postal address, and a surprise will be on it’s way to you.

  8. Bellezza Says:

    Congratulations on your win, Chasing Bawa!

  9. Mystica Says:

    Congratulations and have lots of fun!

  10. Audrey Says:

    The Elegance of the Hedgehog was wonderful! I hope you enjoy it.

  11. Tea Says:

    If any person would like to stop by, I have exciting goings on for Paris in July. N’est ce pas? Oui~

    http://readwithtea.blogspot.com

    Please stop by.


Leave a comment