New books, mais oui!

7 August, 2010

I went crazy with some online shopping this week, what with my parents coming to London and wanting lots of things. So of course I slipped in a few of my own shopping. What self restraint? Nope, haven’t got any.

So I bought the following:

The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets’ Nest by Stieg Larsson – I’ve just want to know what happens next.

Toxic Friends: The Antidote for Women Stuck in Complicated Friendships by Susan Shapiro Barash – We all have complicated friendships and there’s no harm in being a bit more savvy.

The Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver – I got this when I went to Barbara Kingsolver’s talk.

A Moveable Feast by Ernest Hemingway – because my family loves Paris and my dad’s a Hemingway fan.

Dark Matter: Poems of Space edited by Maurice Riordan and Jocelyn Bell Burnell – because I love anything astronomical and Jocelyn Bell Burnell is one of my heroes. One for me and one for my astronomer friend.

And I was lucky enough to be sent the following:

Paris Stories by Mavis Gallant – This was my prize for Iris of Iris on Books‘ birthday giveaway. If you haven’t had a chance to have a nosey around her blog, you’re missing out. I’m a little bit jealous because she always posts amazing, in-depth reviews about a really eclectic mix of books. Happy birthday Iris!

Portrait of the Mother as Young Woman by Friedrich Christian Delius – Peirene Press‘ third release is a ‘single 117-page-long sentence with a beautifully clear rhythm’. Officially intrigued.

12 Responses to “New books, mais oui!”


  1. I think you’ll love the second in the millenium trilogy, Sakura, if you loved the first. Happy reading!

    I have Portrait of the Mother as Young Woman too and am also officially intrigued.

  2. Nymeth Says:

    What *is* self restraint again? 😉

    Enjoy your new books, Sakura! I’ve been meaning to get my hands on A Moveable Feast as well.

  3. Iris Says:

    That was such a sweet thing to say! Thank you. And I hope you enjoy your book!

    It seems you got some other great books as well. I have the Peirene title for review too.

  4. amymckie Says:

    Great titles there! The Peirene Press one is sure to be a delight, and I have Toxic Friends on my tbr as well!

  5. Mae Says:

    If you’re still in Paris, I’m insanely jealous! 🙂

    What a great loot. I made sure to have Hornet’s Nest right next to me when I finished Fire and I was so glad I did. And everybody deserves a splurge now and then and books are always a great ‘investment’!

  6. winstonsdad Says:

    i ve potrait to looking forward to it ,I want get the update hemingway moveable feast to read as well ,all the best stu

  7. Mystica Says:

    We are all jealous about your Paris sojourn!!! and what restraint in the purchases! Admirable!!! I do hope you had a good weekend. Mine was spent shopping in Chennai! have just returned absolutely exhausted with just three books!

  8. Melody Says:

    I’ve no self control when it comes to books buying, LOL.

    Happy reading! 🙂

  9. chasing bawa Says:

    The Book Whisperer: I’ve just finished a book and am trying to decide what to read next. SO HARD.

    Nymeth and winstonsdad: My dad’s been really enjoying reading A Moveable Feast and has been talking about it non-stop. Takes him back to his student days, apparently. I can’t wait to read it, but I may need to get another copy for myself…

    Iris: I saw Paris Stories in a prominent place in Shakespeare & Co which brought a smile to my face!

    amymckie: I may have read about Toxic Friends either on your blog or somewhere else on the web. Intriguing.

    Mae: I’m back but it was beautiful!

    Mystica: It’s funny how you have so much fun but it’s really knackering! My feet still hurt from walking too much.

    Melody: I try and have self control but haven’t quite managed it yet;)

  10. Fëanor Says:

    Apropos Moveable Feast, did you see this?

    • chasing bawa Says:

      Hello! No, I haven’t seen it, and I will be forwarding that link to my dad. Thank you! Interesting how by just rearranging the chapters you can get a very different book. I’m tempted to get the revised version just so that I can compare it to the original. Once I’ve read it, that is.


  11. You’ve got so many great books. Hope you are enjoying them!


Leave a comment