One book, two book, three book, four…and five…

12 May, 2011

This has been doing the rounds and I couldn’t resist. Do check out Simon’s blog where it all started and see what everyone else is reading.

1) The book I’m currently reading:

The Good Muslim by Tahmima Anam. I’m a huge fan of Anam’s after reading her debut, A Golden Age, which deservedly won the Commonwealth Writer’s Prize for Best First Book in 2008. It’s a beautiful, still novel about the very violent conflict between East and West Pakistan resulting in the birth of Bangladesh, told through the voice of Rehana, a wife and mother. The Good Muslim is the sequel, told in the voice of Rehana’s daughter Maya, and although I’ve just started it, I’m already under its spell.

2) The last book I finished:

Read This Next by Sandra Newman and Howard Mittelmark. I love lists of book titles, especially ones that veer away from the quotidien (god, I love using this word). And this one is eclectic, erudite and hilarious. I don’t know how many times I burst out aloud laughing like a maniac. Brilliant. And they recommend China Miéville.

3) The next book I want to read:

Chinaman

Chinaman by Shehan Karunatilaka because I had read an amazing short story by him in Blue . Although this book is about cricket, I’m sure an author with his talents will make it interesting enough for someone who normally avoids reading about sports.

4) The last book I bought:

London Walks! by badaude which is out on June 1st. I couldn’t wait and ordered this on-line and am eager to read it as 1) I love badaude’s work, 2) I live in London and 3) have you seen the fabulous cover??

5) The last book I was given:

People rarely give me books so you’d think I’d remember it if people did, right? I keep telling everyone I love receiving books as gifts but it’s not working. Apart from myself and some lovely publishers, I think the last book I was given is The Mystery Reader’s Walking Guide: London by Barbara Sloan Hendershott and Alzina Stone Dale from my friend J who brought it all the way from the States because he knows I love mysteries, London and that the best way of seeing the city is by walking!

Whataboutchoo?

9 Responses to “One book, two book, three book, four…and five…”

  1. Mystica Says:

    I read something only just yesterday on The Good Muslim and put it right away as something I should read. All your other books sound good as well. I am surprised that quite a few people say they don’t get books as gifts – do you mean books or no vouchers even. I am quite happy if I get vouchers!

    • sakura Says:

      Not even vouchers, can you believe! I think they are subtly implying that I have too many books and don’t want to feed my addiction:)

      If you haven’t already, you should read Tahmima Anam’s A Golden Age before The Good Muslim. Beautiful book.

  2. winstonsdad Says:

    wonderful selection Sakura ,the anam sound good ,all the best stu

  3. Mae Says:

    Ah, London Walks would have been perfect for me. The cover is so beautiful too. I really must give China Mieville a go soon! Book lists just make my day but they can get quite narrow after awhile.

  4. sakura Says:

    winstonsdad: The Anam is really good, Stu!

    Mae: Next time you are in London?;P

  5. savidgereads Says:

    These posts are great for letting us sneak a peek in the reading world of bloggers. If only we could get non bloggers to do them too. Hmmm.

    Really, really, really want to ‘Read This Next’, erm literally!

    • sakura Says:

      That would be great if we got non-bloggers to do them too! Interesting idea:)

      Read This Next was brilliant, I really enjoyed it. And I think you would too – it’ll put a big smile on your face!

  6. Simon T Says:

    Thanks for playing! Read This Next sounds like my sort of book…


Leave a comment